Age-Friendly Health Systems Recognition

Image Block Hero fallback image.

Age-Friendly Health Systems Recognition

IHI recognizes clinical care settings that are working toward reliable practice of evidence-based interventions for all older adults in their care known as the 4Ms (4Ms: What Matters, Medications, Mentation, Mobility). As of June 2024, more than 4,000 health care organizations have earned either level 1 (Participant) or level 2 (Committed to Care Excellence) recognition in the Age-Friendly Health Systems movement.

  • Level 1 (Participant) teams have successfully developed plans to implement the 4Ms.​
  • Level 2 (Committed to Care Excellence) teams have three months of data of older adults who received 4Ms care.

​For more information on who is eligible for recognition, timelines for submission to notification, ​and more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions section below or sign up for Office Hours​ to meet with our team.

Submit Your 4Ms Care Description

Step 1. Select the 4Ms Care Description worksheet that best corresponds to your site of care

*If your health care system has multiple sites of care, please use the Committed to Care Excellence Counts (multiple sites) spreadsheet. If not, please look on the last page of your Care Description PDF Form.

Step 2. Email your completed 4Ms Care Description worksheet to 

You should receive an email with information about your recognition status within three weeks.

Please email for questions or additional information on becoming recognized as an Age-Friendly Health System.​​

Resources for Recognition

Recognition Frequently Asked Questions

Age-Friendly Health Systems Recognized Sites

Please visit the Recognized Sites page to view a list of hospitals and health care practices that have achieved Age-Friendly Health Systems Recognition.

Join Friends of Age-Friendly Health Systems

Receive updates on the Age-Friendly Health Systems movement, invites to quarterly webinars, access to experts, support on the 4Ms Framework, and more.

Join the Community
Prioritizing the Care That Matters Most to Older Adults Across the Care Continuum