IHI Scientific Advisory Group

IHI’s work is guided by a Scientific Advisory Group, an independent group of advisors chartered by IHI’s Board of Directors, which provides expert review and guidance to improve the quality of IHI's improvement designs, rigor, and execution of results-oriented programs and projects. Members of the Scientific Advisory Group also help IHI effectively analyze and disseminate the learning from our work.

IHI’s approach to quality improvement has always been multidisciplinary, involving experts, techniques, and tools taken from the social sciences as well as from life sciences and medicine. The Scientific Advisory Group includes renowned scientific and clinical investigators that represent the broad range of contexts in which IHI works around the world. Members have a deep working knowledge of implementation science and improvement science, in addition to diverse expertise in implementation research and evaluation methods. They represent different global contexts, diverse health and health care settings, and a spectrum of interests that align with IHI priorities and values.


Dean-Coffey_Jara_thumb.jpg Jara Dean-Coffey, MPH
Founder and Director, Equitable Evaluation Initiative
Founder and Director, Luminare Group
San Rafael, California
Garcia-Elorrio_Ezequiel_thumb.jpg Ezequiel Garcia Elorrio, MD, MSc, MBA, PhD
Director, Health Care Quality and Patient Safety
Director, Administration and Finance
Institute for Clinical Effectiveness and Health Policy
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Don Goldmann ​Don Goldmann, MD
Chief Scientific Officer Emeritus and Senior Fellow
Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Professor, Harvard Medical School and Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts
Peter Margolis


Peter Margolis, MD, PhD
Co-Director, James M. Anderson Center for Health Systems Excellence, Cincinnati Children’s Research Foundation Chair in Improvement Science
Professor of Pediatrics, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mary D. Naylor, PhD, RN, FAAN
Marian S. Ware Professor in Gerontology
Director of the NewCourtland Center for Transitions and Health
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Lloyd Provost ​Lloyd Provost, MS
Associates in Process Improvement
Austin, Texas
Repenning_Nelson_thumb.jpg Nelson P. Repenning
Distinguished Professor of System Dynamics and Organization Studies
MIT Sloan School of Management
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Eric Schneider, MD
Eric C. Schneider, MD, MSc, FACP
Executive Vice President
National Committee for Quality Assurance
Washington, DC
Amar Shah, MD
Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist and Chief Quality Officer
East London NHS Foundation Trust
London, England