​​​​​​​​​​​IHI recognizes clinical care settings that are working toward reliable practice of evidence-based interventions for all older adults in their care known as the 4Ms (4Ms: What Matters, Medications, Mentation, Mobility). As of January 2023, more than 2900 health care organizations have earned either level 1 (Participant) or level 2 (Committed to Care Excellence) recognition in the Age-Friendly Health Systems movement.

  • Level 1 (Participant) teams have successfully developed plans to implement the 4Ms.​
  • Level 2 (Committed to Care Excellence) teams have three months of data of older adults who received 4Ms care. 

​For more information on who is eligible for recognition, timelines for submission to notification, ​and more, visit our Frequently Asked Questions and sign up for Office Hours​ to meet with our team. 

Submitting Your 4Ms Care Description

Select the worksheet that best corresponds to your site of care:


Nursing Home​​​

Ambulatory Care

Convenient Care Clinic

Hospitals Which Have Achieved Geriatric Surgery Verification 

Sites Which Have Achieved Geriatric Emergency Department Accreditation

Committed to Care Excellence Counts (multiple sites​​)*​

Send your filled out care description to You should receive an email with information about your recognition status within three weeks. 

Please email for questions or additional information on becoming recognized as an Age-Friendly Health System.​​

*If your healthcare system has multiple sites of care, please use the Committed to Care Excellence Counts (multiple sites) spreadsheet. If not, please look on the last page of your Care Description PDF Form. ​​

Resources for Recognition