National Steering Committee Members

In the face of continued unacceptably high rates of harm, the Institute for Healthcare Improvement convened the National Steering Committee for Patient Safety (NSC) in May 2018 to encourage greater coordination of collective patient safety efforts. Organizations were purposefully selected for their demonstrated commitment to accelerating the improvement of safety, reducing harm, and working with others to spread best practices.

Membership in the NSC is voluntary and includes leaders from 27 organizations representing health care organizations and health care systems; patients, families, and care partners; professional societies; safety and quality organizations; regulatory and accrediting bodies; and federal agencies.

Together, members developed a vision statement and core principles to guide the work of the NSC and the creation of the National Action Plan to Advance Patient Safety to address areas of need and advance collective progress toward establishing total systems safety.


National Steering Committee Co-Chairs

  • Jeffrey Brady, MD, MPH,* Director, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Tejal K. Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS, Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement; Chief Safety and Transformation Officer, Press Ganey Associates LLC


National Steering Committee Members

  • Paul W. Abramowitz, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FASHP, Chief Executive Officer, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
  • Robyn Begley, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, Chief Executive Officer, American Organization for Nursing Leadership; Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, American Hospital Association
  • Deborah J. Bowen, FACHE, CAE, President and CEO, American College of Healthcare Executives
  • Paul L. Epner, MBA, MEd, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine
  • Thomas Granatir, Senior Vice President, Policy and External Relations, American Board of Medical Specialties
  • Maryellen E. Guinan, JD, Principal Policy Analyst, America's Essential Hospitals
  • William Gunnar, MD, JD,* Executive Director, National Center for Patient Safety, Veterans Health Administration
  • Helen Haskell, MA, President, Mothers Against Medical Error
  • Martin J. Hatlie, JD, President and CEO, Project Patient Care
  • Michael J. Hodgson, MD, MPH,* Chief Medical Officer and Director, Office of Occupational Medicine and Nursing, Directorate of Technical Support and Emergency Management, Occupational Safety and Health Administration
  • Patrick Horine, MHA, Chief Executive Officer, DNV GL Healthcare
  • Gary S. Kaplan, MD, FACMPE, Chair, IHI Lucian Leape Institute; Chairman and CEO, Virginia Mason Health System
  • Steve Littlejohn, MA, MBA, Patient and Family Partner
  • Ana Pujols McKee, MD, Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, The Joint Commission
  • Stephanie E. Mercado, CAE, CPHQ, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, National Association for Healthcare Quality
  • Stephen E. Muething, MD, Chief Quality Officer, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center; Strategic Advisor, Children's Hospitals' Solutions for Patient Safety
  • Jade Perdue,* Director, Division of Quality Improvement Innovations Model Testing, Quality Improvement Innovation Group, Center for Clinical Standards and Quality, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Cheryl A. Peterson, MSN, RN, Vice President, Nursing Programs, American Nurses Association
  • Susan C. Reinhard, RN, PhD, FAAN, Senior Vice President and Director, AARP Public Policy Institute; Chief Strategist, Center to Champion Nursing in America
  • Arnol B. Simmons, Manager, Quality and Patient Safety Initiatives, Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society
  • Judy Smetzer, BSN, RN, Vice President, Institute for Safe Medication Practices
  • Cynthia Smith, MD, FACP, Vice President, Clinical Education, American College of Physicians
  • Ronni P. Solomon, JD, Executive Vice President and Chief Policy and External Affairs Officer, ECRI (retired)
  • Arjun Srinivasan, MD, FSHEA,* Captain, United States Public Health Service; Associate Director, Healthcare-Associated Infection Prevention Programs, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Scott K. Winiecki, MD,* Supervisory Medical Officer, Safe Use Initiative, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, US Food and Drug Administration


*Indicates federal liaison member