Team, Faculty, & Advisors


Age-Friendly Health Systems IHI Team & Faculty


  • Joelle Baehrend, Director:
  • Karen Baldoza, MSW, Vice President: 
  • Dylan Balcom, MPH, Project Manager:
  • Matt Berry, Marketing Manager:
  • Alice Bonner, PhD, RN, Advisor, Care of Older Adults: 
  • Nicole Brandt, MD, Faculty
  • Cynthia Brown, MD, Faculty
  • Donna Fick, MD, Faculty
  • Luisana Henriquez Garcia, Project Manager: 
  • Laura Howell, Senior Project Manager: 
  • Min Ji Kwak, MD, Faculty
  • Nicole Korp, Associate Project Manager:
  • Kevin Little, PhD, Improvement Advisor
  • Sumire Maki, Project Manager: 
  • Kedar Mate, MD, President & CEO, Senior Sponsor: 
  • KellyAnne Pepin, MPH, Project Director: 
  • Leslie Pelton, MPA, Vice President:​
  • JoAnne Reifsnyder, PhD, MSN, MBA, RN, FAAN, Faculty
  • Andrea Schwartz, MD, Faculty
  • Christina Southey, Im​provement Advis​or
  • Mary Tinetti, MD, Faculty
  • Amy Walsh, MSc, Project Manager:

Age-Friendly Health Systems Advisory Group​

  • ​​​Don Berwick, MD, MPP (chair), President emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, former administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

  • Faith Mitchell (co-chair), PhD, Institute Fellow, Urban Institute

  • Mary Tinetti, MD (founding co-chair), Gladys Phillips Crofoot Professor of Medicine (Geriatrics) and Professor, Institution for Social and Policy Studies; Section Chief, Geriatrics

  • Ann Hendrich, PhD, RN (founding co-chair), Researcher & Content Expert, Health System, Nursing and Safety Executive

  • Kyle Allen, DO, AGSF, Vice President Enterprise Medical Director, CareSo


  • Kevin Biese, MD Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine; Co-Director, Division of Geriatric Emergency Medicine; Director, Emergency Medicine Residency Program;  Advisor to Gary and Mary West Health Institute

  • Alice Bonner, PhD, RN, Advisor, Care of Older Adults, Institute for Healthcare Improvement

  • Peg Bradke, RN, MA, Vice President, Post-Acute Care, UnityPoint Health - St. Luke's Hospital 

  • Nicole Brandt, PharmD, MBA, Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy; Executive Director, Peter Lamy Center on Drug Therapy and Aging 

  • Marie Cleary-Fishman, BSN, MS, MBA, CPHQ Vice President , Clinical Quality AHA Center for Health Innovation American Hospital Association 

  • Lenise Cummings-Vaughn, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Washington University's School of Medicine

  • Thomas E. Edes, MD, MS, Senior Medical Advisor, Office of Geriatrics & Extended Care, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 

  • Glyn Elwyn, MD, PhD, The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice

  • Wes Ely, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

  • Donna Fick, PhD, RN, Elouise Ross Eberly Professor of Nursing and Professor of Medicine and Director of Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence, Pennsylvania State University; Editor, Journal of Gerontological Nursing

  • T

    erry Fulmer, PhD, RN, President, The John A Hartford Foundation
  • Sherry A. Greenberg, PhD, RN, GNP-BC, Associate Professor, Seton Hall University College of Nursing​

  • Scotte R. Hartronft, MD, MBA, FACP, Executive Director, VA Office of Geriatrics and Extended Care, Veterans Health Administration

  • Carrie Hays McElroy, MSN, RN, Gero-BC, ACM, VP Clinical Operations/CNO, Chief Integrity and Compliance Officer, Trinity Health PACE

  • Kate Hilton, JD, MTS, Senior Consultant, ReThink Health and Faculty, Institute for Healthcare Improvement 

  • Ann Hwang, MD, Director of the Center for Consumer Engagement in Health Innovation, Community Catalyst 

  • Barbara Jacobs, RN, Vice President, Nursing and Chief Nursing Officer, Anne Arundel Medical Center

  • Maulik Joshi, DrPH, Chief Executive Officer, Meritus Health

  • Doug Koekkoek, MD, Chief Executive, Providence Medical Group

  • Bruce Leff, MD, Professor, Johns Hopkins Medicine and Director, The Center for Transformative Geriatric Research, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

  • Shari M. Ling, MD, Acting CMS Chief Medical Officer

  • Nancy Lundebjerg, MPA, Chief Executive Officer, American Geriatrics Society

  • Joe McCannon, Founder, Shared Nation, Formerly Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Billions Institute 

  • Angela Patterson, DNP, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAANP, Chief Nurse Practitioner Officer, CVS Minute Clinic Vice President, CVS Health

  • VJ Periyakoil, MD, Director, Palliative Care Education and Training, Stanford University School of Medicine, VA Palo Alto Health Care System, Division of Primary Care and Population Health

  • Jonathan Perlin, MD, President and CEO, The Joint Commission

  • Eric Rackow, MD, Executive Chairman and Co-Founder, eFamilyCare; President Emeritus, NYU Hospital Center; Professor of Medicine, NYU School of Medicine

  • Stephanie Rogers, MD, MPH Assistant Professor, Medicine, University of California, San Francisco

  • Ronnie Rosenthal, MD, Professor of Surgery, Yale School of Medicine and Surgeon-In-Chief, VA Connecticut Healthcare System

  • Erica Rossitto, MBA/HCM, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, Chief Nursing Executive, HCA Healthcare American Group, Vice President, Group Clinical Operations

  • Nirav Shah, MD, MPH, Adjunct Professor at the School of Medicine, Stanford University

  • Albert Siu, MD , Professor and System Chair, Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, Population Health Science and Policy, General Internal Medicine

  • Victor Tabbush, PhD, Adjunct Professor Emeritus, UCLA Anderson School of Management

  • Julie Trocchio, MSN, Senior Director, Community Benefit and Continuing Care, Catholic Health Association of the United States

Age-Friendly Health Systems What Matters Advisory Group

    • Joann Austin
    • Elissa Brown
    • MaeMargaret Evans
    • Kate Hilton
    • Janice Hopper
    • Andrea Kabcenell
    • Rafael Ruiz
    • Robert Small
    • Randy Smith
    • Madge Street