IHI Open School Online Curriculum and CE Credits

Learn more about learning objectives, available Continuing Education (CE) credits, and other details about IHI Open School online courses.
Courses marked with an * asterisk are part of the Basic Certificate in Quality and Safety; this includes QI 101–Q105, PS 101–105, TA 101, PFC 101, and L 101.

Course Catalog


With self-paced courses in English, Spanish, and Portuguese, faculty from institutions of higher learning and health and health care leaders around the world rely on the IHI Open School as an easy way to bring essential training in quality improvement and patient safety to students and staff — creating a common language around improvement and giving learners crucial skills to become leaders and agents of change in health care.

The IHI Open School Basic Certificate in Quality and Safety, a micro-certification program comprising 13 courses (marked with an * asterisk below; 17.75 total hours), provides a well-rounded introduction to quality, safety, population health, equity, health care leadership, and person- and family-centered care. Completion of these courses earns users the Safety and Quality Improvement Micro-Credential*.

Advanced courses allow learners to go deeper into each of these topics, and our Faculty Guide and library of teaching resources help group leaders engage all types of learners in unique ways.

There are several approaches to integrating IHI Open School content into training programs. For example:

  • Choose a few courses to teach specific concepts
  • Set students up with a solid foundation in quality and safety by assigning the Basic Certificate in Quality and Safety, comprised of 13 core courses
  • Facilitate discussion and applied learning with activities available in the Educator's Toolkit (part of a group subscription)

No matter the approach, our free guide aims to support educators in their efforts to bring training in quality and safety to students or staff — with help from the IHI Open School. We invite you to download and share the IHI Open School Faculty Guide: Best Practices for Curriculum Integration.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits

In support of improving patient care, the Institute for Healthcare Improvement is accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), and the National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ) to provide continuing education for the health care team.

IHI Open School online courses offer more than 35 Continuing Education credits for nurses, physicians (AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™), and pharmacists; Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Part 2 for select medical specialty Boards; CPHQ CE credit from the National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ); and Certified Professional in Patient Safety (CPPS) Recertification credits. 

For help redeeming credits, see Claiming Credits for Your Completed Program.

Learn more about CE credits for IHI Open School courses.

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada have collaborated to enable Royal College Fellows to earn Section 3 credits by participating in accredited CME that counts for MOC. Royal College Fellows will be able to report participation in accredited CME activities that are available on or after November 1, 2019.


*A micro-credential is a digital badge showing proof of completion for a series of courses from an accredited learning institution. They let employers and your professional network know that you have proficiency in a subject area.

Start Your Learning Journey

Get access to exclusive benefits and more than 30 online courses with an IHI Open School subscription.

Subscribe Today
IHI Open School