Team & Advisors

​​​​​​​

Age-Friendly Health Systems IHI Team 

​​

  • Dylan Balcom, Project Assistant: dbalcom@ihi.org
  • Karen Baldoza, MSW, Executive Director: kbaldoza@ihi.org 
  •  
    Alice Bonner, PhD, RN, Advisor, Care of Older Adults: abonner@ihi.org 
  •  
    Laura Howell, Project Manager: lhowell@ihi.org 
  • Kevin Little, PhD, Improvement Advisor: klittle@ihi.org 
  •  
    Sumire Maki, Project Coordinator: smaki@ihi.org 
  • Kedar Mate MD, Chief Innovation and Education Officer, Senior Sponsor: kmate@ihi.org 
  •  
    Elizabeth McDermott, Project Manager: emcdermott@ihi.org 
  •  
    Katie Nerney, Project Assistant: knerney@ihi.org 
  • KellyAnne Pepin, MPH, Project Director: kpepin@ihi.org 
  • Leslie Pelton, MPA, Senior Director: lpelton@ihi.org 


Age-Friendly Health Systems Advisory Group​


  •  Don Berwick, MD, MPP (co-chair), President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement; former administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Faith Mitchell (co-chair), PhD, Institute Fellow, Urban Institute
  • Jonathan Perlin, MD (co-chair), CMO & President Clinical Services, HCA
  • Ann He​ndrich, PhD, RN (founding co-chair), Senior Vice President and Chief Quality/Safety and Nursing Officer, Ascension
  • Mary Tinetti, MD (founding co-chair), Gladys Phillips Crofoot Professor of Medicine (Geriatrics) and Professor, Institution for Social and Policy Studies; Section Chief, Geriatrics
  • Kyle Allen, DO, AGSF, Vice President Enterprise Medical Director for CareSource​
  • Jay Bhatt, DO, Chief Medical Officer, President and CEO, Health Research and Educ​ational Trust and American Hospital Association
  • Kevin Biese, MD, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine (EM) and Internal ​​Medicine, Vice-Chair of Academic Affairs, and Co-Director of the Division of Geriatrics Emergency Medicine at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
  • Alice Bonner, PhD, RN, Senior Advisor, Aging, Innovation, Institute for Healthcare Improvement; Former Secretary of Executive Office of Elder Affairs, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • Peg Bradke, RN, MA, Vice President, Post-Acute Care, UnityPoint Health - St. Luke's Hospital
  • Nicole Brandt, PharmD, MBA, Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy; Executive Director, Peter Lamy Center on Drug Therapy and Aging
  • Jim Conway, MS, Adjunct Lecturer, Harvard School of Public Health, Senior Consultant, Safe and Reliable Healthcare
  • Lenise Cummings-Vaughn, MD, CMD, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine in the Division of Geriatrics and Nutritional Science at Washington University in Saint Louis
  • Glyn Elwyn, MD, Director of the Institute's Patient Engagement program
  • Eugene Wesley Ely, MD, Professor of Medicine, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
  • Donna Fick, PhD, RN, Elouise Ross Eberly Professor of Nursing and Professor of Medicine and Director if Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence, Pennsylvania State University; Editor, Journal of Gerontological Nursing
  • Terry Fulmer, PhD, RN, President, John A Hartford Foundation
  • Kate Goodrich, MD, Center for Clinical Standards and Quality, Director and CMS Chief Medical Officer
  • Sherry A. Greenberg, PhD, RN, GNP-BC, FGSA, FAANP, FAAN
    Associate Professor, Seton Hall University College of Nursing

  • Kate B. Hilton, JD, MTS, Director of ReThink Health
  • Ann Hwang, MD, Director of the Center for Consumer Engagement in Health Innovation, Community C​atalyst
  • Barbara Jacobs, RN, Vice President, Nursing and Chief Nursing Officer, Anne Arundel Medical Center
  • Maulik Joshi, DrPH, Executive Vice President of Integrated Care Delivery and Chief Operating Officer, Anne Arundel Health System
  • Doug Koekkoek, MD, Chief Executive, Providence Medical Group
  • Bruce Leff, MD, Professor, Johns Hopkins Medicine, Director, The Center for Transformative Geriatric Research
  • Nancy Lundebjerg, MPA, Chief Executive Officer, American Geriatrics Society
  • Becky Margiotta, CEO and President, The Billions Institute, LLC
  • Joe McCannon leads Shared Nation, an online democracy initiative incubated by the Billions Institute
  • VJ Periyakoil, MD, Director, Palliative Care Education and Training, Stanford University School of Medicine, VA Palo Alto Health Care System, Division of Primary Care and Population Health
  • Eric Rackow, MD, President, Humana At Home; President Emeritus, NYU Hospital Center; Professor of Medicine, NYU School of Medicine
  • Stephanie Rogers, MD, MPH Assistant Professor, Medicine, University of California, San Francisco
  • Ronnie Rosenthal, MD, Professor of Surgery, Yale School of Medicine and Surgeon-In-Chief, VA
    Connecticut Healthcare System
  • Nirav Shah, MD, MPH, Adjunct Professor at the School of Medicine, Stanford University
  • Albert Siu, MD, Professor and System Chair, Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, Population Health Science and Policy, General Internal Medicine
  • Victor Tabbush, PhD, Adjunct Professor Emeritus, UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • Julie Trocchio, MSN, Senior Director, Community Benefit and Continuing Care, Catholic Health Association of the United State