CPPS Recertification

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Certified Professional in Patient Safety (CPPS) program certifies health care professionals who meet the competency requirements in the areas of patient safety science and human factors engineering, and who demonstrate the ability to apply this knowledge to effectively plan and implement patient safety initiatives.

Following successful completion of the CPPS examination, the certified professional is required to maintain certification by fulfilling continuing education (CE) requirements, which are reviewed and established by the Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety (CBPPS).

Recertification cycle: 3 years

Two paths to recertification are available:
Recertification Path I includes obtaining and maintaining documentation of 45 CE hours over the recertification cycle and payment of a recertification fee.

Accepted types of CE:

  • All CE that follows the CPPS content outline is accepted.
  • CE options include: educational programs, self-study, CPPS item writing, academic course work, and more.

There are many ways to obtain credits toward your CPPS recertification. The CBPPS has pre-approved the programs listed here

Recertification Path II requires sitting for and passing the CPPS Examination within one year prior to expiration date.