Keynote One

Michelle Block Schreiber, MD Michelle Block Schreiber, MD, is currently the Deputy Director of the Center for Clinical Standards and Quality at Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and the Director of the Quality Measurement and Value-Based Incentives Group. Dr. Schreiber is a general internal medicine physician with over 25 years of health care experience. Prior to coming to CMS she was the Senior Vice President and Chief Quality Officer of Henry Ford Health System (HFHS) in Detroit, Michigan. Earlier roles at HFHS included the Division Head of General Internal Medicine, and the SVP of Clinical Transformation and IT Integration, where she was the clinical lead of the systemwide Epic implementation. The Epic implementation and use earned HFHS a Davies Award in 2018. She has also held senior leadership roles at the Detroit Medical Center, where she was the Chief Quality Officer, and with Trinity Health System where she was the national system Chief Medical Officer, and acting interim Chief Medical Information Officer.​​​​​​​​​​​

Arjun Srinivassan, MD, CAPT USPHS Arjun Srinivasan, MD, CAPT USPHS, is the Associate Director for Healthcare Associated Infection Prevention Programs in the Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. His research and investigative areas of concentration include outbreak investigations, infection control, multi-drug resistant gram negative pathogens and antimicrobial use. He currently leads efforts to coordinate activities to prevent healthcare associated infections and to improve the use of antibiotics in hospitals.​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​​​​​Erin Grace, MHAErin Grace, MHA, is Acting Director of the Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (CQuIPS) at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). In this role, she manages the four divisions of the Center: General Patient Safety, Healthcare- Associated Infections (HAI), Patient Safety Organizations (PSOs), and Quality Measurement and Improvement (QMI). Prior to her current role, she served as Division Director for the General Patient Safety Program where she managed the Agency’s activities related to patient safety including funding of grants and contracts, and development and dissemination of evidence-based tools and resources. Previously Ms. Grace served as Chief of Health IT Translation at AHRQ where she focused on knowledge translation, evaluating the impact of the AHRQ Health IT Portfolio’s work, and assessing the future research needs to be addressed by the Portfolio. She also managed contracts, grants and other initiatives with special expertise in health information exchange, Medicaid, rural, and children’s health IT needs. Ms. Grace received her Master’s Degree in Health Administration from The Ohio State University.

Keynote Two

Wendy Dean, MD Wendy Dean, MD, is President and Co-founder at Moral Injury of Healthcare and a writer, speaker, consultant, founder, and physician. Dr. Dean introduced the term Moral Injury into the discussion of healthcare workers’ stress. Moral injury is when healthcare professionals are asked to violate their judgment in service to the financial needs of hospitals, insurers and government thus making clinicians unable to provide high-quality care. Dr. Dean is the President and co-founder of The Moral Injury of Healthcare, a nonprofit organization addressing the crisis of clinician distress. A psychiatrist by training, Dr. Dean left clinical medicine when generating revenue crowded out the patient-centered priorities in her practice. Her focus since has been on finding innovative ways to make medicine better for both patients and healthcare professionals-technologically, ethically, and systemically. Dr. Dean’s expertise is widely sought on Moral Injury in healthcare, women’s leadership, government healthcare investment strategy, medical product development, clinical practice, research oversight, and the ethics of medical innovations.

Keynote Three

Eric J. Thomas, MD Eric J. Thomas, MD, MPH, is Director of the UT Houston-Memorial Hermann Center for Healthcare Quality and Safety and is Associate Dean for Healthcare Quality. Since 1992 he has conducted research on patient safety and his work was heavily cited in the Institute of Medicine’s landmark report on medical error. Dr. Thomas’ current research focuses on diagnostic errors, measuring safety culture, measuring and improving teamwork, and the use of health information technology to improve quality and safety. In 2007 he received the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award for Research from the national Quality Forum and Joint Commission. Dr. Thomas is a member of the Society of General Internal Medicine and the American College of Physicians.​​​​​​​​​​​

New call-to-action