CPPS Governance and Oversight

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ The Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety (CBPPS) is an elected body that has strategic and fiduciary oversight of the certification program.

The CPPS Expert Oversight Committee (EOC), as an advisory body to the CBPPS, is responsible for overseeing the examination and recredentialing processes for the CPPS credential and ensuring that certification continues to meet the high standards required for the profession.

Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety

  • Ann Scott Blouin, RN, PhD, FACHE
    CBPPS Member
    President, PSQ Advisory
  • Karen Frush, BSN, MD, CPPS
    CBPPS Chair
    Chief Clinical Officer, Safe & Reliable Healthcare
  • Patricia McGaffigan, RN, MS, CPPS 
    Ex Officio
    CBPPS President
    Vice President, Delivery
    Institute for Healthcare Improvement​
  • Ronald M. Wyatt, MD, MHA 
    CBPPS Secretary
    VP and Patient Safety Officer
    MCIC Vermont LLC
  • Tiffany Christensen, CPXP
    CBPPS Public Member
    Vice President for Experience Integration
    The Beryl Institute
    Wade J. Westhoff, CFP®, AIF®
    CBPPS Treasurer
    The Westhoff Group, Raymond James

CPPS Expert Oversight Committee​​​

  • ​Kathryn Rapala, DNP, JD, RN, CPPS
    Clinical Assistant Professor

    Marquette University College of Nursing

  • Franchesca J. Charney, RN, MS, CPHRM, CPPS, CPHQ, CPSO, DFASHRM
    Director, Risk Management
    American Society for Healthcare Risk Management (ASHRM)
  • Kerry Dease, RN, MSN, IA, CPHRM, CPPS
    Clinical Risk Manager
    Southwest General Health Center, Partnering with University Hospitals
  • Ellen S Deutsch, MD, MS, FACS, FAAP, CPPS

    ​Senior Scientist, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

    Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA​

  • Barbara Olson, RN, MS, CPPS, FISMP
    Chief Clinical Officer
    Executive Lead, Healthcare Operations
    Outcome Engenuity
  • Alicia B. Perry, PharmD, CPPS
    Manager Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics, Residency Director
    Pharmacy Services, Clinical Services Group
  • Gail Shulby, RN, MA, CPPS
    Chief of Staff, Executive Vice President
    Duke University Health System
  • Sam R. Watson, MSA, MT (ASCP), CPPS
    Senior Vice President Patient Safety and Quality, Executive Director
    Michigan Health & Hospital Association
    MHA Keystone Center
  • Louise White, MS, RN, CPPS, CPHQ
    Patient Safety/Infection Control Nurse
    Bluegrass Care Navigators