Need Help?

(Toll Free)
Monday - Friday
9am - 5pm ET

About this Webcast

​According to the results of a national survey developed by the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)/National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) Lucian Leape Institute, and NORC at the University of Chicago, most survey respondents are regularly seeking medical care and having positive experiences with the health care system. However, 21% of adults report having personally experienced a medical error. The survey further found that when these errors do happen, they have lasting effects on the patient’s health and well-being.

Join a panel of experts on Wednesday, May 30, 2018 from 2:00–3:00 PM ET, as they discuss the survey results and the implications of medical errors on patients, families, health care providers, and the broader health care system.   

Throughout the discussion the panel will also consider the survey results in light of new research conducted by the Betsy Lehman Center and the FrameWorks Institute, that explores the different ways experts, patients, and health care professionals think about patient safety.


Steve Littlejohn Steve Littlejohn, MA, MBA, is a 40-year communications veteran with more than 25 years of experience in healthcare. Currently, Steve undertakes select consulting assignments while growing a portfolio of volunteer initiatives. Previously, Steve served as Vice President, Communications and Public Affairs, for Mallinckrodt where he successfully resolved U.S. and E.U. nuclear medicine issues for the company. Prior to Mallinckrodt, Steve served as Vice President, Public Affairs, at Express Scripts, where he implemented an award-winning generic drug campaign saving millions and led creation of the SOSRx drug safety coalition with the National Consumers League. Steve played a key role in the formation of the National Patient Safety Foundation. He currently, serves on the Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety, the IHI-NPSF Daisy Award Panel, the IHI-NPSF Patient Safety Advisory Committee and the IHI-NPSF Patient Safety National Steering Committee (ex officio). .

Patricia McGaffigan Patricia A. McGaffigan, RN, MS, CPPS, Vice President, Patient Safety Programs, Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), previously served as COO and Senior VP of Programs at the National Patient Safety Foundation until 2017, when the Foundation merged with IHI. Her prior experience includes clinical practice, academia, and leadership roles in education and marketing positions for several start-up and established medical device companies focused on improving patient safety. Ms. McGaffigan is a Certified Professional in Patient Safety, a graduate of the AHA-NPSF Patient Safety Leadership Fellowship Program, and a member of the American Society for Professionals in Patient Safety. She was awarded the distinguished Lifetime Member Award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. She serves on a wide range of national committees related to safety and is a Board of Director for Medically Induced Trauma Support Services. She received her BS with a major in Nursing from Boston College, and her MS with a major in Nursing from Boston University.

M.E. Malone M.E. Malone is the deputy director of the Betsy Lehman Center for Patient Safety, a Massachusetts state agency that coordinates a statewide program of research, data analysis, and communications to reduce medical harm in the Commonwealth. The Center is named for the Boston Globe health reporter and mother of young girls who died in 1994 from a preventable medical error while being treated for breast cancer. Betsy Lehman’s death became a catalyst for improving patient safety in Massachusetts and nationally. M.E. joined the Center as its director of policy and planning after earning an M.S. and an M.P.H. from Tufts University School of Medicine in 2014. Before returning to graduate school, she spent 25 years as a news journalist, including more than 10 as a staff reporter and assistant editor at the Boston Globe. She was a researcher for the newspaper’s investigative unit, the Spotlight Team, and a daily beat reporter covering government affairs at Boston City Hall and the Massachusetts State House. M.E. also holds a B.A. in English from Boston College.

Saul Weingart Saul N. Weingart, MD, MPP, PhD, is Chief Medical Officer and Senior Vice President of Medical Affairs at Tufts Medical Center and Professor of Medicine, Public Health, and Community Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. Previously, he served as Vice President for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Dr. Weingart holds a doctorate in public policy from Harvard and an MD degree from the University of Rochester. Dr. Weingart’s research examines patient safety in primary and specialty care, patient engagement, and diagnostic errors. A general internist, Dr. Weingart served as a member of the board of directors of the National Patient Safety Foundation and was the recipient of the 2012 John M. Eisenberg individual achievement award in quality and patient safety.


Madge Kaplan Madge Kaplan, IHI’s Director of Communications, is responsible for developing new and innovative means for IHI to communicate the stories, leading examples of change, and policy implications emerging from the world of quality improvement ― both in the U.S. and internationally. Prior to joining IHI in July 2004, Ms. Kaplan spent 20 years as a broadcast journalist for public radio – most recently working as a health correspondent for National Public Radio. Ms. Kaplan was the creator and Senior Editor of Marketplace Radio's Health Desk at WGBH in Boston, and was a 1989/99 Kaiser Media Fellow in Health. She has produced numerous documentaries, and her reporting has been recognized by American Women in Radio and Television, Pew Charitable Trusts, American Academy of Nursing and Massachusetts Broadcasters Association.