Need Help?

(Toll Free)
Monday - Friday
8:30am - 5pm ET

Featured Speakers

Disclaimer: Consistent with the IHI’s policy, faculty for this program are expected to disclose at the beginning of their presentation(s) any econ​omic or other personal interests that create, or may be perceived as creating, a conflict related to the material discussed. The intent of this disclosure is not to prevent a speaker with a significant financial or other relationship from making a presentation, but rather to provide listeners with information on which they can make their own judgments.

Unless otherwise noted below, each presenter provided full disclosure information, does not intend to discuss an unapproved/investigative use of a commercial product/device, and has no significant financial relationship(s) to disclose. If unapproved uses of products are discussed, presenters are expected to disclose this to participants.​

CHaraden.jpgDonald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, FRCP, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, is also former Administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. A pediatrician by background, Dr. Berwick has served on the faculty of the Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Public Health, and on the staffs of Boston's Children's Hospital Medical Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, and the Brigham and Women's Hospital. He has also served as Vice Chair of the US Preventive Services Task Force, the first "Independent Member" of the American Hospital Association Board of Trustees, and Chair of the National Advisory Council of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. He served two terms on the Institute of Medicine's (IOM's) Governing Council, was a member of the IOM's Global Health Board, and served on President Clinton's Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Healthcare Industry. Recognized as a leading authority on health care quality and improvement, Dr. Berwick has received numerous awards for his contributions. In 2005, he was appointed "Honorary Knight Commander of the British Empire" by Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II, in recognition of his work with the British National Health Service. Dr. Berwick is the author or co-author of over 160 scientific articles and six books. He also serves as Lecturer in the Department of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School, and he's an elected member of the American Philosophical Society.

Alide Chase OG.jpgElizabeth A. McGlynn, PhD is Vice President for Kaiser Permanente Research and Executive Director of the Kaiser Permanente Center for Effectiveness & Safety Research (CESR). She is the senior national executive leader for Research in Kaiser Permanente.  In this capacity, working with the National Research Council, she provides program wide leadership for research in Kaiser Permanente, coordinates the development and implementation of national research strategy, oversees and supports research administration throughout Kaiser Permanente, represents and communicates about Kaiser Permanente Research internally and externally, and works with national and regional leadership to promote Kaiser Permanente Research and assure its contribution to improved care for Kaiser Permanente members and improved health in the communities they serve. She is also responsible for the strategic direction and scientific oversight of CESR, which is designed to improve the health and well-being of K​aiser Permanente’s members and the public by conducting comparative effectiveness and safety research and implementing findings in policy and practice. Dr. McGlynn is an internationally known expert on methods for evaluating the appropriateness and quality of health care delivery. She has also led major initiatives to evaluate health reform options under consideration at the federal and state levels. Prior to joining Kaiser Permanente, Dr. McGlynn was the Associate Director of RAND Health and held the RAND Distinguished Chair in Health Care Quality.  She received AcademyHealth’s Distinguished Investigator Award in 2012, is a member of the National Academy of Medicine,  and chairs the Institute for Healthcare Improvement’s Scientific Advisory Group.