​​​​​​The IHI Lucian Leape Institute is proud to collaborate with other entities in granting recognition of people, organizations, or projects that help to advance safer health care.

The IHI Lucian Leape Institute Medtronic Safety Culture & Technology Innovator Awards

This award recognizes teams who have demonstrated extraordinary and innovative initiatives to drive successful implementation of technology through culture change. Winning submissions demonstrate critical cultural interventions that enabled and led to successful technology adoption with measurable impact on patient, family, and workforce safety.

The Regenstrief National Center for Medical Device Informatics at Purdue University and Memorial Rehabilitation Institute (Florida) were chosen to receive the 2018 awards. Read more about their initiatives.

Read more about their initiatives and see the press release.

Read more about the award.

The 2018 award recipients received their awards at the IHI Lucian Leape Institute Forum & Keynote Dinner, held September 13 in Newton, Massachusetts.

Below, from left: Gary Kaplan, MD, FACMPE, Chairman and CEO, Virginia Mason Health System, and Chair, Lucian Leape Institute; Rebecca Valdivia and Denise Maillet of Memorial Rehabilitation Institute; Rich Zink and Damion Junk of the REMEDI Collaborative; and David Giarracco, Vice President, Medtronic

John Q. Sherman Award for Excellence in Patient Engagement

The John Q. Sherman Award is sponsored by the IHI Lucian Leape Institute and Taylor Communications to elevate the innovative work people and organizations from across the continuum of care are doing to advance patient and family engagement.


The Doctors Company Foundation Young Physicians Patient Safety Award

Conferred in partnership with the IHI Lucian Leape Institute annually between 2011 and 2016, The Doctors Company Foundation Young Physicians Patient Safety Award recognized young physicians for their personal insight into the importance of applying the principles of patient safety to reduce the incidence of medical error. Individuals submitted essays about patient safety events they personally experienced during clinical rotations. Essays were judged by a panel selected by the IHI/NPSF Lucian Leape Institute.

Visit for more information.



The 2018 IHI Lucian Leape Institute Medtronic Safety Culture & Technology Innovator Awards

The 2018 awards were conferred on September 13, 2018. Nominations will open for 2019 in May.

Read more about the winning 2018 initiatives and see the press release.

About the Award

Nomination Submission Requirements
Nominations must detail team dedication to the implementation of a technological innovation or process improvement that positively impacts the safety of patients and/or the workforce. All submissions must be brand agnostic and may not identify the manufacturer of a specific model of technology.

Each submission should answer the following questions in approximately 200 words each:

  • Please describe the organizational challenge the team’s work addressed.

  • What is the type of technology or process innovation that the team utilized or adapted (please do not provide brand)?

  • How did the team involve and/or influence the organizational leadership to successfully implement the technology or process change?

  • What critical cultural components did the team develop or leverage to embed and sustain improvement? (E.g., How did the current organizational culture support you? What changes to culture were necessary for successful implementation?)

  • Please describe how the team measured the degree and sustainability of improvements on patient and/or workforce safety.

  • How might this success be transferred and replicated in other healthcare organizations?

Award recipients will be chosen by a panel of judges who will evaluate each nomination for the project's impact on improvement to patient or workforce safety, evidence of sustainability of improvement initiative, and potential to transfer the process or technological innovation to other individuals or organizations, among other criteria.